When he hit the mountain, it felt like he was sprinting the way he left his opponents in his wake.To say Primoz Roglic “just” won the stage would be an understatement. He trounced his opposition and made it look easy doing it. He takes over the overall lead from Stefan Bissegger and has a handy 35 second lead. Pierre Lator of France learnt the importance of timing. He had the initial burst at the beginning of the summit climb, (3.1km)which was a bit too hasty in my honest opinion.

1Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma4:49:36
2Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:12
3Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis
4Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Team DSM
5Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana-Premier Tech
6Lucas Hamilton (Aus) Team BikeExchange
7David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ0:00:16
8Quentin Pacher (Fra) B&B Hotels p/b KTM
9Pierre Latour (Fra) Total Direct Energie
10Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech